अक्टूबर 15-16, 2013 -डेस मोइनेस, आयोवा संयुक्त राज्य अमेरिका


डॉ.. रॉबर्ट L. थॉम्पसन – Paul H जॉन्स हॉपकिंस विश्वविद्यालय में अतिथि विद्वान. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies in Washington, डीसी. He is Professor Emeritus at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign where he held the Gardner Endowed Chair in Agricultural Policy from 2004 करने के लिए 2010. He is also Senior Fellow, global agricultural development and food security, with the Chicago Council on Global Affairs. From mid-1998 until late 2002 Thompson was at the World Bank where he served as its Director of Rural Development, with administrative responsibility for the Bank’s worldwide agriculture, forestry and rural development programs. While at the World Bank, much of his effort was concerned with getting agriculture and rural development back onto the World Bank’s agenda.


  • अर्जेंटीना – श्री. डेविड ह्यूजेस
  • ऑस्ट्रेलिया – श्री. एंड्रयू Weidemann
  • कनाडा – श्री. Gerrid झोंका
  • घाना – श्रीमती. लिडा Sasu
  • भारत – श्री. V. रविचंद्रन (2013 Kleckner व्यापार & प्रौद्योगिकी प्रगति पुरस्कार)
  • भारत -श्री. राजाराम माधवन
  • केन्या -श्री. गिल्बर्ट arap चौ
  • केन्या – श्री. David Kosgei
  • पैराग्वे – श्री. जॉर्ज Heisecke
  • पोलैंड – श्री. रोमन Warzecha
  • पुर्तगाल – एमएस. Gabriela Cruz
  • दक्षिण अफ़्रीका – एमएस. Eve ‘Tepsy’ Ntseoane
  • संयुक्त राज्य, विस्कॉन्सिन – श्री. जिम Zimmerman
  • उरुग्वे – श्री. Enrique Carlos Oyharzabal
  • ज़िम्बाब्वे – श्री. ट्रेवर जिफोर्ड

को 2013 Global Farmer Roundtable marked the event’s eighth yearthe annual meeting has proven to be an exciting dialogue and exchange of ideas. This year fifteen farmers from around the world came together and discussed a number of issues from different perspectives. The Roundtable, hosted by Truth About Trade & प्रौद्योगिकी (TATT), met October 15 और 16 Des Moines में, आयोवा. डॉ.. रॉबर्ट L. Thompson returned this year as the moderator of the event.

The Global Farmer Roundtable was held again during the week of विश्व खाद्य पुरस्कार गोष्ठी (अक्टूबर 17-19) which allowed the farmers attending the Roundtable to also take part in the Borlaug Dialogue, विजेता पुरस्कार समारोह, और दूसरी ओर सप्ताह के दौरान आयोजित की घटनाओं. Several of the farmers were also invited to participate on panels in the Symposium or side events during the week.

Ravichandran Vanchinathan from India received the 2013 Kleckner व्यापार & प्रौद्योगिकी प्रगति पुरस्कार मंगलवार को, अक्टूबर 15 at a Global Farmer Awards Dinner hosted by Truth About Trade & प्रौद्योगिकी और CropLife अंतर्राष्ट्रीय. It was also announced that Ravi, as he is known by friends, was the first Kleckner Fellow. The Kleckner Fellowship, named in honor of Dean Kleckner, Chairman Emeritus of TATT, supports at least one farmer’s participation each year at the Global Farmer Roundtable.

V. Ravichandran grows rice, गन्ना, cotton and small grains (दालें) on a 60-acre farm at Poongalum village in the state of Tamil Nadu, near the southern tip of India.

“Living in the second largest populated nation, as farmers we must balance the provision of food at an affordable price and at the same time make enough profit to sustain ourselves. वहाँ कोई जादू फार्मूला है,” Ravi stated. He went on, “It is possible only through the adoption of scientifically proven, अच्छी तरह से स्थापित तकनीक. To increase our farm production and productivity, we need to adopt science and technology in farming like the rest of our society.”

Noting that limited access to technology is just one of the barriers to increased crop production faced by India’s farmers, Ravi was instrumental in beginning a collective farming concept for local cotton growers in 2012.

“A group of like-minded farmers took up cultivation of the same crop at the same time and marketed it together. We could aggregate our resources and enjoy the collective bargaining strength.”

को Kleckner व्यापार & प्रौद्योगिकी प्रगति पुरस्कार was established in 2007 in honor of डीन Kleckner, व्यापार के बारे में सच्चाई & प्रौद्योगिकी के अध्यक्ष एमेरिटस. पुरस्कार TATT ग्लोबल किसान गोलमेज संमेलन के साथ संयोजन के रूप में प्रतिवर्ष दिया जाता है. The award recipients are Rosalie Ellasus, फिलीपींस (2007); जेफ Bidstrup, ऑस्ट्रेलिया (2008); जिम McCarthy, आयरलैंड (2009), Gabriela Cruz, पुर्तगाल (2010), गिल्बर्ट arap चौ, केन्या (2011), राजेश कुमार, भारत (2012),and now V. Ravichandran also from India (2013).

वैश्विक किसान गोलमेज संमेलन से तस्वीरें पर पाया जा सकता है TATT के मीडिया सेंटर / फोटो एलबम या TATT के फेसबुक पेज पर.

को 2013 event has brought the number of farmers who have attended and become part of the वैश्विक किसान नेटवर्क to over one-hundred strong.

Read commentaries written by members of the Global Farmer Network in the अतिथि टीका वेबसाइट के अनुभाग. If you need a speaker for a panel or event, check out the Speakers Bureau वेबपेज.